My 23 Year Old Daughter

They say you shouldn’t lend money to friends. Maybe I shouldn’t have. Even if you say it wont, money always changes relationships. It has to as money is power.

I do wish though I hadn’t worked out exactly how much i’ve lent. £8,500 in just over two years and that’s just the money for the rent. I expect the true final figure will be closer to £10,000.

Don’t get me wrong, I went into this with my eyes wide open and it’s not like I can’t afford it. I made very sure that I could afford it. Most of the time I don’t really think about it, it’s just a sum of money that disappears from my bank account each month a day or so after I get paid. She has enough to worry about without worrying about where the rent is coming from or if she has enough money to get to a placement in the middle of nowhere.

This all means I have a dependant. Sometimes, and for a brief moment I feel that I don’t have a girlfriend but I do have a daughter at university to support. Daughter or girlfriend I take this responsibility seriously and sometimes it can get a bit too much. She often says to me that if it’s all much strain on me then to transferring money. Surly that would just create more worry and stress, and that’s what I want to take away from her.

It’s less than a year until her first payday. There is light at the end of the financial struggle tunnel. Calling it a struggle is actually a bit of an untruth, but I think that’s how she sees it. I think she’s ashamed and doesn’t like the fact she can’t support herself financially, but that’s just how things are…well until this time next year.

The reason why she can’t support herself financially is a whole more involved story. That story will have to wait.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

